Smiths of Isle of Wight County, Virginia – Latest consolidation efforts

Thanks for hanging in there with me folks.

Today I was presented with an opportunity to begin consolidating my research on the Carrington Smiths of Rivenhall and Blackmore in Essex.

Early Virginia

According to a number of credible sources, it can be shown that an Arthur Smith of Blackmore, Essex immigrated to Isle of Wight Co, VA in the mid 1600’s.

This Arthur Smith is one of the individuals who has had their lineage mangled. I wish to present the most credible sources I have found for his line and the lines of his close agnates.

Here’s a quote:
“…This Arthur Smith as been represented as a son of Sir Thomas Smith, the celebrated treasurer of the London Company, but Sir Thomas’ will is shown in the Virginia Magazine and mentions no son Thomas. (Va. Mag., Vol. 26, p. 267-69.)”
Additionally, I would like to add that there is also no Christopher Smith associated with this line in Virginia, or anywhere else in 17th century North America, despite the plethora of “information” on the internet that says otherwise.
Now, with a grain of salt in hand… [double check these folks please!] [and sorry it’s Google Books… you may need to buy an e-copy if you wish to study the text in depth].
This book goes into great detail about the Smith line out of the Nansemond area.

The Smiths of Smith’s Neck, Isle of Wight County, Virginia – by Lloyd E. Warren – William and Mary Quarterly

17th Century England

Stepping back even further in time, the following tree show agnatic descendants of John Carrington, Esq. of Rivenhall in Essex. These lines all existed in England. They are all prior to the Smith immigrations to North America.

Here is a great blog authored by Andrew Smith in Essex, UK. Many thanks to him for his great work on researching the family of Smiths in Blackmore.

Blackmore Area Local History – Blackmore: Thomas Smyth born c.1605 Braintree

I’m going to put it to you simply folks, if you can’t link a Smith line you are researching back to one of these lines, then your research subject is not descended from John Smith, Esq. of Rivenhall in Essex.

Also, here is a link to “The Peerage.com”. The William Smith I am sending you to was, I believe, an heir to The Lords Carrington in his time. Follow his Smith line up/back for more information. For some reason the website stops with Hugh Smith who died in Witham, Essex in 1486, but we can see him in this below tree (5th row, far left) to complete the link to John Smith, Esq. of Rivenhall in Essex.

William Smith of Cressing Temple

smiths-partial-descendant-tree-blackmore_rivenhall_littlebaddow

Additionally, the following PDF found on Archive.org has a rather detailed pedigree and account of the Smiths as the line pertains to the earliest The Lords Carrington.

The Smith Family… – By Elliot Stock – published 1904 [starting on page 66].

And even further back…

This book has been a very interesting read. It appears to have taken great care in recording the details of the Carrington Smiths and shows a lineage back to Hamo de Carynton, nephew of Hamo de Massey, a man who accompanied William (I) the Conqueror to The Battle of Hastings.

History and Records of the Smith-Carington Family – edited by Walter Arthur Copinger [lots of letters…]

I will post more as I find my old research. It is my hope that these accounts all agree, but I can not say that I know that to be a certainty at the moment. However, all the aforementioned documents claim to be discussing the same Smith line and are in a general agreement.

Thanks for reading!

Chris Smith

Smiths of Isle of Wight County, Virginia – Latest consolidation efforts

6 thoughts on “Smiths of Isle of Wight County, Virginia – Latest consolidation efforts

  1. Scott Smith says:

    Hi-
    I am a descendent of the Carrington-Smythe line. Arthur and his brother Thomas came to Virginia around 1630. I am descended from Thomas.

    Like

    1. Hey again Robert! I see Thomas Smith and Margaret Turner are listed in SmithsWorldWide.org as group R-M269-7. I see you claim descent from Thomas Smith who married Margaret Turner. I would like to communicate with you outside of my blog. Would you be OK with that? Thanks!

      Like

Leave a comment